Israel Not Yet Ready to Ratify Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty
Printer-friendly versionSend to friend
Thu, 2016-07-14
CTBTO logo.jpg

Israel’s Prime Minister Netanyahu stated on June 20, that his country would not yet be ratifying the CTBT this year as experts had expected. Netanyahu said he continues to support the treaty but that Israel’s ratification of it is dependent on regional context and appropriate timing.  As of now, eight of the 44 states with nuclear technologies have not yet ratified the pact: Israel, Iran, Egypt, Pakistan, India, China, the United States, and North Korea.  Until these countries ratify it, the treaty cannot go into effect. 

Read more here.