122 Countries Sign UN Treaty Banning Nuclear Weapons
Printer-friendly versionSend to friend
Fri, 2017-07-07

At a July 7 United Nations conference, 122 countries adopted the first treaty that outright bans nuclear weapons, an initiative led by the delegations of Austria, Brazil, Mexico, South Africa, and New Zealand. The treaty, officially the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, was met with praise from UN Secretary-General Guterres who believed it marked an important step to reinforce dialogue on the future of nuclear disarmament. The treaty is the first legally binding and multilateral agreement in over 20 years to be negotiated on the issue of nuclear disarmament. The treaty bans the development, testing, production, manufacturing, acquisition, and possession, or stockpiling of nuclear weapons and other nuclear explosive devices, in addition to any usage of threat with such weapons. It should be noted that no nuclear-weapon state was included in the negotiations or voted to adopt the treaty, making it clear in various statements that countries such as the United States, United Kingdom, and France, would also not support the treaty in the future when it becomes open to signature in late September.

Read more here