المشاريع

الممارسات الفضلى في التعامل مع المهددات الداخلية

كمطوّر للممارسات الفضلى حول التعامل مع المهددات الداخلية من منظور إقليمي – يشمل سجل عمل المعهد على مواد تدريبية لدراسات حالة إقليمية حول المهددات الداخلية، و منهجيات تطوير حملة توعوية أمنية مفصلة بحسب الاحتياجات، بالإضافة إلى ادلة عملية حول تطوير برامج الاعتمادية البشرية. يتم مشاركة هذه الممارسات الفضلى أيضا وترويجها في المنشآت المعنية من خلال طرق ابداعية كالتمارين التفاعلية ومقاطع الفيديو.

مشروع المعايرة التبادلية للقياسات الإشعاعية

يهدف المشروع إلى بناء الكفاءات الأساسية و تأسيس معايير مشتركة في مجال التحليل الإشعاعي وعبر الدول العربية. تم إطلاق المشروع عام 2002 من قبل وزارة الطاقة الأمريكية وبتنفيذ من مختبرات سانديا الوطنية، حيث اصبح المشروع لاحقا تحت قيادة وإدارة معهد الشرق الأوسط العلمي للأمن منذ عام 2013.

برنامج تدريب الأمن النووي العالمي

لسنوات عديدة، وبالشراكة مع مختبر اوكريدج الوطني، عمل معهد الشرق الأوسط العلمي للأمن على تنفيذ برنامج الأمن النووي العالمي التابع لوكالة خفض تهديدات الدفاع الأمريكية – وذلك ضمن نطاق المملكة الأردنية الهاشمية. بموجبه، يعقد المعهد جلسات تدريبية من المستوى المبتدأ إلى المتقدم يشارك بها الجهات والمؤسسات المعنية، كما ويساهم المعهد في تطوير التمارين وسيناريوهات التدريب حول المنع و الكشف والاستجابة.

تمرين الصقر

شارك معهد الشرق الأوسط العلمي للأمن في تطوير تمرين التعاون العربي المشترك "تمرين الصقر" والذي استضافته دولة الأمارات العربية المتحدة كأول تمرين عربي مشترك يتمحور حول الاستجابة لحوادث نووية أو إشعاعية. تم تطوير التمرين من قبل معهد الأمم المتحدة الإقليمي لبحوث الجريمة والعدالة وبالتعاون مع دولة الأمارات العربية المتحدة والمملكة الأردنية الهاشمية ومملكة المغرب والمفوضية الأوروبية والمبادرة العالمية لمكافحة الإرهاب النووي – وذلك ضمن إطار عمل مبادرة مراكز التمييز للحد من التهديدات الكيماوية والبيولوجية والاشعاعية والنووية التابعة للاتحاد الأوروبي.

منهاج تدريب التوعية الأمنية

منهاج تدريبي حول التوعية بالأمن النووي تم تطويره من قبل معهد الشرق الأوسط العلمي للأمن كتدريب تمهيدي للمنشآت داخل المملكة الأردنية الهاشمية والتي تشترط على موظفيها الحصول على معرفة بأساسيات الأمن والسلامة النووية والاشعاعية. يتم تطوير إصدارات أخرى من هذا المنهاج مخصصة لموظفين الأمن والموظفين في المجالات غير الأمنية وكذلك للموظفين ذو المهام الفنية أو المهام الإدارية. يتم حاليا العمل على اعادة تطوير هذا المنهاج التدريبي لقطاعات أخرى تشمل المنشآت الكيماوية والبيولوجية.

Projects

Insider Threats Best Practices

As a developer of regional best practices on insider threats, MESIS’ portfolio includes training modules on regional insider threat case studies, methodologies for the development of tailored security signage campaigns, and practical guides on the development of Human Reliability Programs (HRP). These best practices are also promoted at relevant facilities through creative awareness methods including videos and interactive exercises.

Radiation Measurement Cross Calibration Project (RMCC)

The Radiation Measurement Cross Calibration (RMCC) project aims to build core competencies in radioanalysis capabilities across the region and to establish common standards. The project was launched in 2002 by the US Department of Energy and implemented by Sandia National Laboratories (SNL), and has been under the leadership and management of MESIS since 2013.

GNS Training Program

The US Defense Threat Reduction Agency’s (DTRA) Global Nuclear Security (GNS) program has been jointly implemented by Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) in Jordan for several years. In this capacity, MESIS convenes basic to advanced training sessions for interagency stakeholders, and contributes to exercise and scenario development on prevention, detection, and response.

Falcon Exercise

MESIS was the co-developer of the inter-Arab tabletop exercise “Falcon,” hosted by the United Arab Emirates, and the first such inter-Arab exercise focusing on the response to a radiological/nuclear incident. The exercise was developed under the framework of the European Union (EU) Chemical Biological Radiological Nuclear (CBRN) Centres of Excellence (CoE) Initiative by the United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute (UNICRI), in partnership with the United Arab Emirates, the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, the Kingdom of Morocco, the European Commission, and the Global Initiative to Combat Nuclear Terrorism (GICNT).

Security Awareness Course

The Nuclear Security Awareness Course is an introductory training developed by MESIS as an induction course for facilities across Jordan requiring employees to have a basic understanding of radiological and nuclear safety and security fundamentals. Variants of the course are developed for security and non-security personnel, as well as for administrative and technical roles. The course is currently being redeveloped for other sectors, including chemical and biological facilities.